Public Document Pack

Tony Kershaw Director of Law and Assurance

If calling please ask for:

Clare Jones on 033 022 22526 Email: clare.jones@westsussex.gov.uk

www.westsussex.gov.uk

County Hall Chichester West Sussex PO19 1RQ Switchboard Tel no (01243) 777100



20 February 2023

Dear Member,

County Council - Friday, 17 February 2023

Please find enclosed details of recorded votes taken at the meeting of the County Council held on Friday, 17 February 2023.

Agenda No Item

9. Council Plan and Budget 2023/24 (Pages 3 - 10)

Recorded votes on budget amendments and recommendations attached.

Yours sincerely

Tony Kershaw Director of Law and Assurance

To all members of the County Council

Item 9 – Council Plan and Budget 2023/24

Amendment by Clir Lord: Result of recorded vote

The amendment was put to a recorded vote under Standing Order 3.36.

(a) For the amendment – 13

Cllr Cherry, Cllr Condie, Cllr N Dennis, Cllr Gibson, Cllr Johnson, Cllr Kerry-Bedell, Cllr Lord, Cllr Mercer, Cllr Milne, Cllr Oppler, Cllr Quinn, Cllr Sharp, and Cllr Wild.

(b) Against the amendment - 35

Cllr Albury, Cllr Atkins, Cllr Baldwin, Cllr Bradbury, Cllr Britton, Cllr Burrett, Cllr Cooper, Cllr Crow, Cllr J Dennis, Cllr Duncton, Cllr Dunn, Cllr Evans, Cllr Forbes, Cllr Greenway, Cllr Hillier, Cllr Hunt, Cllr A Jupp, Cllr N Jupp, Cllr Kenyon, Cllr Lanzer, Cllr Marshall, Cllr McDonald, Cllr McGregor, Cllr Mitchell, Cllr Montyn, Cllr Oakley, Cllr Patel, Cllr Payne, Cllr Pendleton, Cllr Russell, Cllr Sparkes, Cllr Urquhart, Cllr Waight, Cllr Wall and Cllr Wickremaratchi.

(c) Abstentions – 8

Cllr Baxter, Cllr Chowdhury, Cllr Cornell, Cllr McKnight, Cllr Oxlade, Cllr Pudaloff, Cllr Smith and Cllr Turley.

The amendment was lost.

Item 9 – Council Plan and Budget 2023/24

Amendment by Cllr Baxter: Result of recorded vote

The amendment was put to a recorded vote under Standing Order 3.36.

(a) For the amendment – 13

Cllr Baxter, Cllr Chowdhury, Cllr Cornell, Cllr Gibson, Cllr Johnson, Cllr McKnight, Cllr Oxlade, Cllr Pudaloff, Cllr Quinn, Cllr Sharp, Cllr Smith, Cllr Turley and Cllr Wild.

(b) Against the amendment - 37

Cllr Albury, Cllr Atkins, Cllr Baldwin, Cllr Bence, Cllr Bradbury, Cllr Britton, Cllr Burrett, Cllr Cooper, Cllr Crow, Cllr J Dennis, Cllr Duncton, Cllr Dunn, Cllr Evans, Cllr Forbes, Cllr Greenway, Cllr Hillier, Cllr Hunt, Cllr A Jupp, Cllr N Jupp, Cllr Kenyon, Cllr Lanzer, Cllr Marshall, Cllr McDonald, Cllr McGregor, Cllr Mitchell, Cllr Montyn, Cllr Nagel, Cllr Oakley, Cllr Patel, Cllr Payne, Cllr Pendleton, Cllr Russell, Cllr Sparkes, Cllr Urquhart, Cllr Waight, Cllr Wall and Cllr Wickremaratchi.

(c) Abstentions – 8

Cllr N Dennis, Cllr Cherry, Cllr Condie, Cllr Kerry-Bedell, Cllr Lord, Cllr Mercer, Cllr Milne and Cllr Oppler.

The amendment was lost.

Item 9 – Council Plan and Budget 2023/24

Amendment by Cllr Sharp: Result of recorded vote

The amendment was put to a recorded vote under Standing Order 3.36.

(a) For the amendment – 4

Cllr Gibson, Cllr Johnson, Cllr Sharp and Cllr Wild.

(b) Against the amendment - 38

Cllr Albury, Cllr Atkins, Cllr Baldwin, Cllr Bence, Cllr Bradbury, Cllr Britton, Cllr Burrett, Cllr Cooper, Cllr Crow, Cllr J Dennis, Cllr Duncton, Cllr Dunn, Cllr Evans, Cllr Forbes, Cllr Greenway, Cllr Hillier, Cllr Hunt, Cllr A Jupp, Cllr N Jupp, Cllr Kenyon, Cllr Kerry-Bedell, Cllr Lanzer, Cllr Marshall, Cllr McDonald, Cllr McGregor, Cllr Mitchell, Cllr Montyn, Cllr Nagel, Cllr Oakley, Cllr Patel, Cllr Payne, Cllr Pendleton, Cllr Russell, Cllr Sparkes, Cllr Urquhart, Cllr Waight, Cllr Wall and Cllr Wickremaratchi.

(c) Abstentions – 16

Cllr Baxter, Cllr Cherry, Cllr Chowdhury, Cllr Condie, Cllr Cornell, Cllr N Dennis, Cllr Lord, Cllr McKnight, Cllr Mercer, Cllr Milne, Cllr Oppler, Cllr Oxlade, Cllr Pudaloff, Cllr Quinn, Cllr Smith and Cllr Turley.

The amendment was lost.

Item 9 – Council Plan and Budget 2023/24

Result of recorded vote

The recommendations were put to a recorded vote under Standing Order 35.6.

(a) For the recommendations – 37

Cllr Albury, Cllr Atkins, Cllr Baldwin, Cllr Bence, Cllr Bradbury, Cllr Britton, Cllr Burrett, Cllr Cooper, Cllr Crow, Cllr J Dennis, Cllr Duncton, Cllr Dunn, Cllr Evans, Cllr Forbes, Cllr Greenway, Cllr Hillier, Cllr Hunt, Cllr A Jupp, Cllr N Jupp, Cllr Kenyon, Cllr Lanzer, Cllr Marshall, Cllr McDonald, Cllr McGregor, Cllr Mitchell, Cllr Montyn, Cllr Nagel, Cllr Oakley, Cllr Patel, Cllr Payne, Cllr Pendleton, Cllr Russell, Cllr Sparkes, Cllr Urquhart, Cllr Waight, Cllr Wall and Cllr Wickremaratchi.

- (b) Against the recommendations 0
- (c) Abstentions 21

Cllr Baxter, Cllr Cherry, Cllr Chowdhury, Cllr Condie, Cllr Cornell, Cllr N Dennis, Cllr Gibson, Cllr Johnson, Cllr Kerry-Bedell, Cllr Lord, Cllr McKnight, Cllr Mercer, Cllr Milne, Cllr Oppler, Cllr Oxlade, Cllr Pudaloff, Cllr Quinn, Cllr Sharp, Cllr Smith, Cllr Turley and Cllr Wild.

The recommendations were carried.